App image

Snapchat now allows users to delete and "unsend" messages

Published 6/12/2018 by IanDorfman

The ability to retract messages previously sent to people is coming to the popular social networking and communication app Snapchat.

The feature, which Snapchat is calling "Clear Chats," allows for users to hold down on any piece of content (including audio notes, images, memories, stickers, text messages, and videos) that they send to others in order to bring up a prompt to delete said content. After the content is deleted, the recipient (or recipients if the user is in a group conversation) will be notified that a message that was previously sent had been deleted.

This change comes in the wake of controversy surrounding Snapchat rival Small Facebook iconFacebook and its handling of users' sensitive data.

Snapchat will be rolling out the Clear Chats feature over the next few weeks, according to TechCrunch.

Snapchat on HyperVTX